Virat Kohli draws inspiration from Glenn Maxwell’s book, hits Chahal for reverse sweep; LOOK

Former India captain Virat Kohli, known for playing Orthodox cricket, was seen hitting a reverse sweep into the net on Friday while training for the Asian Cup. In a video that is going viral on social media, Kohli was seen playing Glenn Maxwell’s shot against teammate Yuzvendra Chahal. The video shows Kohli running towards Chahal to punch him after hitting him for a reverse sweep.

Kohli and Chahal are both part of India’s squad for the 2022 Asian Cup. The six-team tournament is due to start on Saturday with a clash between Afghanistan and Sri Lanka. India are set to play their first game against arch-rivals Pakistan on Sunday. The Indian squad took to the pitch last night to train for the big-money clash against their western neighbours. Check out the video where Kohli hits Chahal for a reverse sweep.

Meanwhile, Kohli is also set to achieve a milestone in the upcoming Asian Cup. If Kohli plays the first game against Pakistan, which is very likely, he will become the first Indian to play 100 games in all three formats. Kohli has played 99 T20Is for the country so far and scored 3308 points. Kohli will also be looking to regain his form during the game as he hasn’t scored in a century since 2019.

Asian Cup 2022

The 2022 Asian Cup was originally scheduled to be held in Sri Lanka from August 27 to September 11. However, due to the ongoing political and economic crisis in the island nation, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) moved the tournament to the United Arab Emirates. (UNITED ARAB EMIRATES). India will enter the competition as the defending champions having won both editions of the Asian Cup since 2016. This year marks the second time the tournament will be held in the T20 format. The first time the Asian Cup was held in the T20 format was in 2016. India are the only team to have won the competition in both formats.

India’s Asian Cup squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (Wicket Keeper), Dinesh Karthik (Wicket Keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Image: Twitter/@crickohli18

Comments are closed.