2022 Historical Novel Prize $100,000 Long Lists Announced

The Historical Novel Society Australasia (HNSA) has announced the shortlists for the 2022 ARA Historical Novel Award.

The pre-selected titles in the adult category are:

  • Horse (Geraldine Brooks, Hachette)
  • Bath’s Good Wife (Karen Brooks, HQ Fiction)
  • Good night, Vivienne, good night (Steven Carroll, Fourth Estate)
  • The winter dress (Lauren Chater, S&S)
  • Only birds above (Portland Jones, Fremantle Press)
  • The rat catcher (Kim Kelly, Brio Books)
  • Corporal Hitler’s pistol (Tom Keneally, Penguin)
  • Cold Coast (Robyn Mundy, Ultimo)
  • The sawdust house (David Whish-Wilson, Fremantle Press)

The shortlisted titles in the Children and Young Adults (CYA) category are:

  • The unstoppable Flying Flanagan (Felice Arena, puffin)
  • slip the slip knot (Meg Caddy, text)
  • Katipo Joe: The Wolf’s Lair (Brian Falkner, Scholastic New Zealand)
  • Our violent ends (Chloe Gong, Hodder)
  • Amorangi and Millie’s time travel (Lauren Keenan, Huia Publishing)
  • Augustin and the hot air balloon (David Metzenthen, Ford Street)
  • Rabbit, soldier, angel, thief (Katrina Nannestad, ABC Books)
  • The Secret Battle (Pamela Rushby, Eagle Books)
  • wearing green (Claire Saxby, Walker Books).

“This year’s longlists explore a wide range of powerful themes, from reinvention and a sense of truth to playful, fast-paced fables and revamping of literary classics,” the organization said.

“The Long Lists demonstrate the power of historical fiction to bring the past to life, explore often unspoken truths, and illuminate the challenges humanity has faced over the centuries.”

With a total value of $100,000, the historical novel prize will award $50,000 to the winner in the adult category and $30,000 to the CYA category. The other four shortlisted authors in both categories will each receive $5,000. The addition of the CYA category last year makes this award the richest genre literary award in the Australasia region.

The shortlisted titles will be announced on September 28, and the winners will be announced on October 20. Jock Serong was the adult category winner and Katrina Nannestad the first CYA category winner of last year’s award.

For more information see the HNSA website.

Category: Awards Local News

Comments are closed.